TV Shows

10 ‘American Idol’ Finalists From 2020 Will Compete for a Slot on This Season

“We pivoted pretty quickly to remote production last year because we had to,” executive producer and showrunner Trish Kahane tells Billboard. “When it became apparent that things were going to be a bit better this year and that we were going to be able to return to the Television City studio with the big lights, we thought about last year’s contestants. They did so well with the remote production, with their mums and dads helping them and their brothers and sisters holding iPhones and ring lights, but they never had the proper Idol experience. Some people really come alive on that big stage. We thought they deserved to have that experience.”

The 10 season 18 contestants who will perform for America’s votes on Monday, April 19 are: Faith Becnel; Franklin Boone; DeWayne Crocker, Jr.; Arthur Gunn; Cyniah Elise; Aliana Jester; Louis Knight; Nick Merico; Makayla Phillips and Olivia Ximines. Last year’s champion, Just Sam, was not asked back because she has already won the show. Two other top 10 finalists, Dillon James and Francisco Martin, have signed with record labels and so they weren’t eligible to compete again.

Billboard can exclusively reveal the songs the “comeback” contestants will be performing, below:

Faith Becnel: “Cry Baby” (Janis Joplin)
Franklin Boone: “Meant to Live” (Switchfoot)
DeWayne Crocker Jr.: “Voice of God” (Dante Bowe feat. Steffany Gretzinger & Chandler Moore)
Cyniah Elise: “Edge of Midnight (Midnight Sky Remix)” (Miley Cyrus feat. Stevie Nicks)
Arthur Gunn: “Iris” (Goo Goo Dolls)
Aliana Jester: “I’ll Never Love Again” (Lady Gaga)
Louis Knight: “Maybe That” (Louis Knight)
Nick Merico: “City Lights” (Nick Merico)
Makayla Phillips: “Anyone” (Demi Lovato)
Olivia Ximines: “Say Yes” (Michelle Williams feat. Beyoncé & Kelly Rowland)

Source link

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button