Vote counting continues in 13 ridings still too close to call | CBC News

Vote counting continues today in 13 ridings across the country with narrow margins between the leading candidates — in some cases as narrow as 100 votes or less.

Elections Canada says it will be a few days before the country can get a complete picture of the 2021 federal election’s voter turnout and final results.

The agency says it needs a few more days to complete the results because it’s still counting local special ballots — mostly mail-in ballots from voters in their home ridings.

Today, Elections Canada finished counting votes in the New Brunswick riding of Fredericton. Jenica Atwin, who won in that riding as a Green in 2019 before crossing the floor to the Liberals, defeated Conservative candidate Andrea Johnson with 16,316 votes.

Ridings yet to be decided:

Coast of Bays-Central-Notre Dame

  • Conservative candidate Clifford Small leads Liberal Scott Simms with 14,177 votes to 13,579.


  • Bloc Québécois candidate Rene Villemure leads Conservative Yves Levesque by 16,336 votes to 16,304.


  • Bloc Québécois candidate Marilou Alarie leads Liberal Pascale St-Onge by 20,695 votes to 20,556. 

Sault Ste. Marie

  • Liberal Terry Sheehan leads Conservative candidate Sonny Spina by 14,467 votes to 14,406.


  • Liberal Tim Louis leads Conservative Carlene Hawley by 19,142 votes to 18,948.


  • Liberal Julie Dzerowicz leads the NDP’s Alejandra Bravo 18,810 votes to 18,492.

Spadina-Fort York

  • Independent candidate Kevin Vuong is leading NDP candidate Norm Di Pasquale by 16,955 votes to 15,635. 

Hamilton Mountain

  • Liberal candidate Lisa Hepfner leads the NDP’s Malcolm Allen 16,034 votes to 15,285.

Charleswood-St. James-Assiniboia-Headingley

  • Conservative Marty Morantz leads Liberal candidate Doug Eyolfson by 16,134 votes to 15,973.

Edmonton Centre

  • Liberal Randy Boissonnault leads Conservative candidate James Cumming by 15,454 votes to 15,318.

Vancouver Granville

  • Liberal Taleeb Noormohamed leads New Democrat Anjali Appadurai by 14,997 votes to 14,765.

Richmond Centre

  • Liberal Wilson Miao leads Conservative Alice Wong by 11,700 votes to 11,002.


  • New Democrat Lisa Marie Barron leads Conservative Tamara Kronis by 18,051 votes to 17,050.

Source link

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button